Call us | 972-837-8762

Band of Heathens

The original principal songwriters – Colin Brooks, Ed Jurdi and Gordy Quist – shared the bill at Momo’s, an Austin club. Originally, each singer/songwriter performed his own set. However, they eventually started sharing the stage, and collaborating with bassist Seth Whitney. The Wednesday night series was billed as “The Good Time Supper Club”.  A misprint in a local paper billed the act as “The Heathens.” Drummer John Chipman joined the band in 2007, and Keyboardist Trevor Nealon, who played in the studio during the recording of both “One Foot in the Ether” and “Top Hat Crown & the Clapmaster’s Son”, joined the touring unit in 2011.  Their first recording, “Live from Momo’s”,  brought Band of Heathens national attention and they were voted “Best New Band” at the 2007 Austin Music Awards.  May 20, 2008 Band of Heathens released their first, self titled, studio album. Produced by Ray Wylie Hubbard, and featuring notable guests Patty Griffin, Stephen Bruton, and Gurf Morlix, the record went to #1 on the AMA radio charts.

Leave a Reply

Our Community

Pin it
Pin it

Contact Us

Main | 972-837-8762
Email | [email protected]